Flu shot season is here

flu-shot

How many of you get a flu shot? Five years ago I received my first one. I felt terrible for days after I got it and vowed I wouldn’t get another one. I lied. I got one this week and guess what? I still feel like crap.

Adulting is such a scam. 

The only reason I truly did it was so when I signed into MyChart I didn’t have to see it as an outstanding item on my health record anymore. I also thought I would be really smart and get a tetanus booster on the same day (different arm). Now I can’t lift either arm and I feel under the weather. Why do we do this to ourselves?

I’ve been really worried about my health this year.

It’s been a year of awareness about all the things which could potentially go wrong with my health.

  • I’m aware of my cholesterol (which I found out the total cholesterol is all bullshit), you only need to be worried about your good cholesterol being high, your bad cholesterol being low, and your triglycerides being normal. The rest is phooey.
  • I’ve was kind of shocked that my prediabetes from a few years back is completely gone. Especially since I’m sitting here eating a Hershey bar while typing this. (Hey – chocolate makes my arm feel better. It’s therapeutic.)
  • My stupid foot seems to have a ganglion on the top of it. I have an appointment with an orthopedic surgeon in the coming weeks.

The doctor says I’m a picture of health, so why am I so worried? The doctor said this week he thinks I’m troubled about how early in life my mother died and he reminds me I’m a different person than her…and I’m healthy. The words are music to my ears, yet he was quick to add…

…but we are still getting that flu shot today!

Ugh – I feel like flu shots are a real sign of old age. I went ahead and got it taken care of, but I think I would have left the doctor’s office happier and more validated without it. He was adamant with the amount of flying I do, the flu shot would really help keep me from getting sick. The only thing is that I’m pretty sure the flu shot is not going to help me steer clear of the three sinus infections and upper respiratory infection I had in the last twelve months. Where are THOSE vaccinations?

He was adamant with the amount of flying I do, the flu shot would really help keep me from getting sick. The only thing is that I’m pretty sure the flu shot is not going to help me steer clear of the three sinus infections and upper respiratory infection I had in the last twelve months. Where are THOSE vaccinations?

So here I am typing to you today, with painful arms which both feel like they weigh heavier than they should, griping about a flu shot. This is pretty much the low of low in first world problems, right?

Moral of the story is to get your vaccinations in and if they tell you that you’ll be a little sore after your flu shot, they are a big fat liar.

sheryl-brown-oct-05-2016

 

 

Leave a Reply

